Discover Sparta / Municipal Units

The municipal unit of Faris is made up of 28 villages: Xirokampi, Agios Christoforos, Anthohori, Anogeia, Arkasades, Arna, Vasiliki, Varda, Goranoi,  Kaminia,  Dipotama,  Kavouraki, Kryoneri, Kydonia, Kydonitsa, Lefki, Lefkohoma,  Liantina,  Nihori,  Palaiopanagia, Palaiohori, Pentavloi, Polovitsa, Potamia, Spartia, Sotira, Toriza and Trapezonti.

Faris extends into the heart of the central and eastern Taygetos region. Attractions include: an ancient bridge built in 50 BC, the Liakakos Tower, the medieval settlement of Koumousta (altitude 750 m.) with five Byzantine churches, three churches in Xirokambi, the forest of Pentavli (altitude 1,200 m.) which is a continuation of the marvelous Anakolos ravine, the mountain settlement of Toriza, and the Taygetos Mountain Refuge (altitude 1,550 m.) which serves as a base for ascents to the summit. In the area of Goranoi, you can find the Giatrakou Tower as well as an ancient quarry that bears the name ‘Gynaika’ (‘ Woman’). Near the village of Spartia lies the cave where Konstantinos  Kolokotronis, father of Theodore, was killed.

At Arna’s beautiful square, shaded by its perennial plane tree, the famous Chestnut Festival takes place in the end of October. Every summer numerous open-air performances and events are staged at the stone Amphitheater in Xirokambi .